Gigglebug’s creative pair Anttu Harlin and Joonas Utti awarded by Hulda jury

The presenters of Finnish Audiovisual Export Award, ‘Hulda’ gave in its sixth year two honorable mentions to internationally successful professional pairings. Anttu Harlin and Joonas Utti’s creation Gigglebug has captured the hearts of viewers around the world, including Disney, for whom Harlin and Utti’s company Gigglebug Entertainment developed a new TV series based on the 101 Dalmatians classic.

The other honorable mention went to It’s Alive Films’ Teemu Nikki and Jani Pösö for their original youth content series Mental, which has been sold to several European territories. The Hulda prize went this year to production company Rabbit Films, in recognition of the company’s impressive journey onto the international market. Ultimate Expedition, produced by Rabbit Films, marks the first ever television series produced by a Finnish production company for the US market.

In animation circles Rabbit Films might be remembered from Little Dudesons, the series in concept development, that got selected into Cartoon Forum in 2013. Chairman of the Board Jarno Laasala told not long time a ago to Finnanimation executive, that the animation concept is not forgotten;  and rather looking for a new devoted producer.

Gigglebug’s Best and Bester set tongues wagging at the Cartoon Forum 2017 leading to a co-production deal with London based company Eye Present. Read more on Gigglebug here.

The Hulda prize is named after the 1937 Finnish film Juurakon Hulda. Its Hollywood version The Farmer’s Daughter premiered in 1947 bringing its star Loretta Young an Oscar for Best Actress. Jussi Awards, on the other hand, are Finland’s highest film honor. The prize may be awarded to a Finnish audiovisual production, professional, company or team which has made a clear and innovative international breakthrough, thus inspiring others in the field with their success. Animation productions have been notified ofthe as the prize has gone twice to animation: on its 2nd year to Dibidogs series and last year to The Angry Birds Movie.


Share on Social Media